Australia: The Heat From a Whinging Poms Perspective

Let’s talk about hot weather. Some people relish the heat. They live their life waiting for those days when they can sit out in the sun, soak up the rays, get a tan, and drink an ice-cold beer. I on the other hand, am the opposite. I’m very much a cold weather man. I like wearing fluffy jumpers and thick coats, sitting in front of a fire on a cold winter evening, drinking a nice warm cup of tea. I wouldn’t blame you then, for thinking me crazy moving to Australia. I do too.

So I leave the UK in the middle of winter, when the average temperature is hovering around the zero degrees Celsius mark. Two days later I arrive in Australia at the height of summer, and there is a heat wave, with the temperature regularly hitting the high 40’s.

I struggle.

Don’t get me wrong; I appreciate a bit of warmth now and again, but there are some occasions during said heat wave when I feel like Icarus flying too close to the sun, or Gollum falling in to the fiery pits of Mount Doom. It is uncomfortable to say the least, and going out for dinner when it’s 47 degrees is never going to go well. I’m sweating buckets. And let me tell you, there is no ice-cold beer in the world that can help that.

Having said all that, a few weeks later the heat wave is over, the temperature has settled to the 30-40 range, and I start to get used to it. It’s not so bad after all, and I begin to find myself enjoying the warm days. Not to mention that the sunsets are spectacular. Who knows, I might be a sun worshipper after all!

IMG_4477

Now let’s skip forward a bit. I’ve almost been here for 5 months, and we’re now in the middle of winter. An Australian winter isn’t like a British winter. It doesn’t really ever get down to freezing here. At the moment the days are sitting between 10-15 degrees, and nights are around 5-10. Occasionally we wake up with morning dew, but even then the temperature rises pretty quickly and it’s disappeared before you know it. Similarly to the UK however, there is a lot of rain. Grim.

So here I am now, looking outside at the grey clouds and the rain, wishing it were summer again. Longing for the hot sun to be beating down on my pale skin, as I sweat through the second shirt of the day. Oh how I’ve changed.

Leave a Reply

